01 Bavarian barley malt

Barley is the basis for every malt whisky. For our SLYRS, we use a two-row summer barley. It ripens gently in the north of Bavaria in the fertile soil of the Franconian Jura. It can also be found with the highest level of quality around Munich. After careful malting in a special malthouse, it is gently torrefied, which means dried. This gives SLYRS its typical, agreeably aromatic smoky flavour. Combined with our alpine spring water and the aromatic mountain air, it gives the whisky its unmistakable Bavarian character.

SLYRS Gerste
Unser Rohstoff Wasser

Purest alpine spring water

The quality of a whisky hinges on the water used. SLYRS is lucky in that it has the purest mineral water from an alpine spring practically right outside the distillery. Our water comes from a spring in the protected forest of the Schliersee Alps. Its purity and quality is responsible for the exceptional taste of our Bavarian single malt whisky.

01 Bavarian barley malt

Barley is the basis for every malt whisky. For our SLYRS, we use a two-row summer barley. It ripens gently in the north of Bavaria in the fertile soil of the Franconian Jura. It can also be found with the highest level of quality around Munich. After careful malting in a special malthouse, it is gently torrefied, which means dried. This gives SLYRS its typical, agreeably aromatic smoky flavour. Combined with our alpine spring water and the aromatic mountain air, it gives the whisky its unmistakable Bavarian character.

SLYRS Gerste

Purest alpine spring water

The quality of a whisky hinges on the water used. SLYRS is lucky in that it has the purest mineral water from an alpine spring practically right outside the distillery. Our water comes from a spring in the protected forest of the Schliersee Alps. Its purity and quality is responsible for the exceptional taste of our Bavarian single malt whisky.

Unser Rohstoff Wasser
Gerstentrocknung

2,2 kg

Barley malt

2.2 kilograms of top-quality barley malt are needed to produce one bottle of SLYRS whisky.

 

Reinstes Alpenquellwasser

800m

Spring water

We have the purest spring water from a forest spring practically on our doorstep – just 800 metres away.

 

Aromaschonende Destilation

14h

Distillation

Our SLYRS whiskies are gently double-distilled in 14 hours to preserve flavour.

 

Reifung in Fässern

225l

Quality casks

Our quality casks of American white oak have a capacity of 225 litres.

 

02 Slow fermentation

02 Slow fermentation

03 Distilling to preserve flavour

We are of course always in action at SLYRS. It’s all hands on deck. But when it comes to distilling, we allow ourselves plenty of time.

The gentler and slower the distilling, the higher the quality of the whisky, as the precious flavours are preserved.

SLYRS Destillation

03 Distilling to preserve flavour

We are of course always in action at SLYRS. It’s all hands on deck. But when it comes to distilling, we allow ourselves plenty of time.

The gentler and slower the distilling, the higher the quality of the whisky, as the precious flavours are preserved.

SLYRS Destillation

04 Ageing in American white oak casks

The white oak gives our SLYRS an exquisite flavour. Further nuance is provided by the fine layer of charcoal created when the casks are charred.

After an ageing period of three to six years, some of our whisky is transferred to well-travelled casks, including from Bodegas Tradición/Jerez, for special finishes. This creates premium rarities with their own special flavour. Our pride and joy, SLYRS Aged 12 Years, is aged in traditional casks of our own. SLYRS Mountain Edition, which breathes mountain air in our storehouse at the top of Mount Stümpfling, also reposes in American white oak casks.

04 Ageing in American white oak casks

The white oak gives our SLYRS an exquisite flavour. Further nuance is provided by the fine layer of charcoal created when the casks are charred.

After an ageing period of three to six years, some of our whisky is transferred to well-travelled casks, including from Bodegas Tradición/Jerez, for special finishes. This creates premium rarities with their own special flavour. Our pride and joy, SLYRS Aged 12 Years, is aged in traditional casks of our own. SLYRS Mountain Edition, which breathes mountain air in our storehouse at the top of Mount Stümpfling, also reposes in American white oak casks.

SLYRS distiller

With a particular passion and love of the product, our dynamic team of distillers led by Hans Kemenater creates unique SLYRS compositions of the very highest quality every day.

SLYRS Destillerie Team Hans

Hans Kemenater

CEO & Master distiller

SLYRS Destillerie Team Phillip

Phillip Zollner

Brewmaster

SLYRS Destillerie Team Johannes

Johannes Bacher

Distiller

SLYRS Destillerie Team Kilian

Killian Jonscher

Distiller

SLYRS Destillerie Team Andi

Andreas Flossmann

Brewer 

SLYRS Destillerie Silias Fischer

Silas Fischer

Distiller

SLYRS Destillerie Fabian Angerer

Fabian Angerer

Distiller apprentice

01 Gerstenmalz aus Bayern

Gerste bildet die Grundlage jedes Malt Whiskys. Für unseren SLYRS verwenden wir eine zweizeilige Sommergerste. Schonend reift sie im Norden Bayerns, auf den fruchtbaren Böden des Fränkischen Jura. Auch im Münchner Umland ist sie in bester Qualität zu finden. Nach sorgfältigem Mälzen in einer Spezialmälzereiwird sie schonend gedarrt, das heißt getrocknet. Das verleiht unserem SLYRS den typischen, angenehm würzigen Rauchgeschmack. Zusammen mit unserem Alpenquellwasser und der aromatischen Bergluft schenkt es ihm seinen unverwechselbar bayrischen Charakter.

SLYRS Gerste
Unser Rohstoff Wasser

Reinstes Alpenquellwasser

Die Qualität eines Whiskys steht und fällt mit dem verwendeten Wasser. SLYRS hat das große Glück, reinstes, mineralhaltiges Alpenquellwasser sozusagen direkt vor der Brennerei zu haben. Unser Wasser stammt aus der Bannwaldquelle der Schlierseer Alpen. Seine Reinheit und Güte bestimmt in herausragender Weise den einzigartigen Geschmack unseres Bavarian Single Malt Whiskys.

01 Gerstenmalz aus Bayern

Gerste bildet die Grundlage jedes Malt Whiskys. Für unseren SLYRS verwenden wir eine zweizeilige Sommergerste. Schonend reift sie im Norden Bayerns, auf den fruchtbaren Böden des Fränkischen Jura. Auch im Münchner Umland ist sie in bester Qualität zu finden. Nach sorgfältigem Mälzen in einer Spezialmälzereiwird sie schonend gedarrt, das heißt getrocknet. Das verleiht unserem SLYRS den typischen, angenehm würzigen Rauchgeschmack. Zusammen mit unserem Alpenquellwasser und der aromatischen Bergluft schenkt es ihm seinen unverwechselbar bayrischen Charakter.

SLYRS Gerste

Reinstes Alpenquellwasser

Die Qualität eines Whiskys steht und fällt mit dem verwendeten Wasser. SLYRS hat das große Glück, reinstes, mineralhaltiges Alpenquellwasser sozusagen direkt vor der Brennerei zu haben. Unser Wasser stammt aus der Bannwaldquelle der Schlierseer Alpen. Seine Reinheit und Güte bestimmt in herausragender Weise den einzigartigen Geschmack unseres Bavarian Single Malt Whiskys.

Unser Rohstoff Wasser
Gerstentrocknung

2,2 kg

Gerstenmalz

2,2 Kilogramm bestes Gerstenmalz sind notwendig, um eine Flasche SLYRS Whisky herzustellen.

 

Reinstes Alpenquellwasser

800m

Quellwasser

Reinstes Quellwasser von der Bannwaldquelle haben wir quasi vor der Haustüre – nur 800 Meter entfernt.

 

Aromaschonende Destilation

14h

Destillation

14 Stunden dauert die zweifache, aromaschonende Destillation unserer SLYRS Whiskys.

 

Reifung in Fässern

225l

Qualitätsfässer

225 Liter fassen unsere Qualitätsfässer aus neuer, amerikanischer Weißeiche.

 

02 Langsame Gärung

02 Langsame Gärung

03 Aromaschonende Destillation

Natürlich stehen wir bei SLYRS immer unter Strom. Es gibt alle Hände voll zu tun. Aber wenn es ums Destillieren geht, lassen wir uns ganz viel Zeit.

Je schonender und langsamer die Destillation, desto besser die Qualität des Whiskys. Denn die wertvollen Aromen bleiben erhalten.

SLYRS Destillation

03 Aromaschonende Destillation

Natürlich stehen wir bei SLYRS immer unter Strom. Es gibt alle Hände voll zu tun. Aber wenn es ums Destillieren geht, lassen wir uns ganz viel Zeit.

Je schonender und langsamer die Destillation, desto besser die Qualität des Whiskys. Denn die wertvollen Aromen bleiben erhalten.

SLYRS Destillation

04 Reifung in Fässern aus amerikanischer Weißeiche

Das Weißeichenholz schenkt unserem SLYRS ein herrliches Aroma. Dazu kommt als weiterer Nuancengeber die feine Holzkohleschicht, die beim Ausbrennen der Fässer entsteht.

Nach einer Reifezeit von drei bis sechs Jahren wird ein Teil unseres Whiskys für besondere Finishings in weitgereiste Fässer, u. a. der Bodegas Tradición/Jerez, umgefüllt. Dabei entstehen edle Raritäten mit ganz individuellem Geschmack. Unser Stolz, der SLYRS Aged 12 Years, wird übrigens in traditionsreichen Fässern aus eigenem Hause zur Reife gebracht. Auch die SLYRS Mountain Edition, die in unserem Höhenlager am Gipfel des Bergs Stümpfling Höhenluft atmet, ruht in amerikanischen Weißeichenfässern.

04 Reifung in Fässern aus amerikanischer Weißeiche

Das Weißeichenholz schenkt unserem SLYRS ein herrliches Aroma. Dazu kommt als weiterer Nuancengeber die feine Holzkohleschicht, die beim Ausbrennen der Fässer entsteht.

Nach einer Reifezeit von drei bis sechs Jahren wird ein Teil unseres Whiskys für besondere Finishings in weitgereiste Fässer, u. a. der Bodegas Tradición/Jerez, umgefüllt. Dabei entstehen edle Raritäten mit ganz individuellem Geschmack. Unser Stolz, der SLYRS Aged 12 Years, wird übrigens in traditionsreichen Fässern aus eigenem Hause zur Reife gebracht. Auch die SLYRS Mountain Edition, die in unserem Höhenlager am Gipfel des Bergs Stümpfling Höhenluft atmet, ruht in amerikanischen Weißeichenfässern.

SLYRS Destillateure

Mit besonderer Leidenschaft und Liebe zum Produkt kreiert das dynamische Destillateursteam um Hans Kemenater jeden Tag einzigartige SLYRS Kompositionen allerhöchster Güte.

SLYRS Destillerie Team Hans

Hans Kemenater

Geschäftsführer & Destillateurmeister

SLYRS Destillerie Team Phillip

Phillip Zollner

Braumeister

SLYRS Destillerie Team Johannes

Johannes Bacher

Destillateur

SLYRS Destillerie Team Kilian

Killian Jonscher

Destillateur

SLYRS Destillerie Team Andi

Andreas Flossmann

Brauer

SLYRS Destillerie Silias Fischer

Silas Fischer

Destillateur

SLYRS Destillerie Fabian Angerer

Fabian Angerer

Destillateur Lehrling