SLYRS Store | open 10-18h | SLYRS Online Shop | open 24/7 | SLYRS Caffee & Lunchery open 9-17h | Distillery open

A true Bavarian with Hiberno-Scottish roots

The name SLYRS is Gaelic and has Hiberno-Scottish roots. But SLYRS is Bavarian to the core. In the year 779, five monks from Ireland and Scotland build a monastery in the Bavarian wilderness of Schliersee. Adalung, Hiltupalt, Kerpalt, Antonius and Otakir call the monastery SLYRS, pronounced ‘shleers’ as in the German Schliersee.

Over the centuries, the SLYRS monastery gives its name to the entire Schliersee region and 1,220 years later to a very special single malt whisky from Upper Bavaria.

Pioneer with innovative spirit

It all begins with a bet made back in 1994, when the brewer and master distiller Florian Stetter makes an educational trip to Scotland with his master distiller colleagues. He is surprised by the similarities that he finds with his home in Upper Bavaria: mountains, clear water and beautifully clean air.

He is also struck by the occasionally defiant and stubborn nature of the Scots, which seems very Bavarian to him, a difficult-to-pronounce dialect and a strong inclination towards independence. Even the Scottish national dress, the kilt, seems to him to be as idiosyncratic as Bavarian ‘lederhosen’.

The many similarities between the Scots and the Bavarians along with his visits to the world-famous distilleries of the Speyside region inspire Florian Stetter to create an Upper Bavarian single malt whisky. He bets his colleagues a crate of wheat beer that first-class whisky can also be distilled in Upper Bavaria – and wins! Not long afterwards, German whisky is being made at his parents’ Lantenhammer distillery. But that’s just the start of the SLYRS story.

SLYRS - a drop of home

Here by Lake Schliersee in Upper Bavaria, where the streams are still clear, the meadows still a lush green and the mountain peaks so high that they seem to pierce the blue sky, SLYRS is right at home.

This home is intrinsically linked to SLYRS whisky and our philosophy:

A true Bavarian with Iro-Scottish roots

The name SLYRS is Gaelic and has Iro-Scottish roots. But SLYRS is Bavarian to the core. In the year 779, five monks from Ireland and Scotland build a monastery in the Bavarian wilderness of Schliersee. Adalung, Hiltupalt, Kerpalt, Antonius and Otakir call the monastery SLYRS, pronounced ‘shleers’ as in the German Schliersee.

Over the centuries, the SLYRS monastery gives its name to the entire Schliersee region and 1,220 years later to a very special, Upper Bavarian single malt whisky.

Pioneer with innovative spirit

The story begins with a bet back in 1994: The trained brewer and master distiller Florian Stetter makes an educational trip to Scotland with his fellow masters. He is surprised by the similarities that he finds with his home in Upper Bavaria: mountains, clear water and beautifully clean air.

There is also the occasionally defiant dourness of the Scots, which seems very Bavarian to him, a difficult-to-pronounce dialect and a strong inclination towards independence. Even the Scottish national dress, the kilt, seems to him to be as idiosyncratic as Bavarian lederhosen.

So much Scottish-Bavarian crossover and his visits to the world-famous distilleries of the Speyside region inspire Florian Stetter’s vision to produce an Upper Bavarian single malt whisky. He bets his colleagues a crate of wheat beer that first-class whisky can also be distilled in Upper Bavaria – and wins! Just a short while later, whisky is being made at his parents’ Lantenhammer distillery. But that’s just the start of the SLYRS story.

Distilling with passion for the best quality

We are constantly evolving and preserving our leading role on the German whisky market. With courage, creativity and Bavarian charm, we are pressing ahead – striving to make many more passion-filled SLYRS whisky creations of the highest quality that are native to Lake Schliersee and at home all over the world.

SLYRS - a drop of home

Here by Lake Schliersee in Upper Bavaria, where the streams are still clear, the meadows still a lush green and the mountain peaks so high that they seem to pierce the blue sky, SLYRS is right at home.

This home is intrinsically linked to SLYRS whisky and our philosophy:

Discover our Mission & Values

Newsletter

FOLLOW US ON

Subscribe now to our newsletter and be the first to learn about important news about new products and offers as well as events of the SLYRS Experience.

Of course, you can cancel the newsletter at any time via a link in the e-mail or via this page.

Ein echter Bayer mit iroschottischen Wurzeln

Der Name SLYRS ist gälisch und hat iroschottische Wurzeln. Doch SLYRS ist bayrisch durch und durch. Denn im Jahre 779 gründen fünf aus Irland und Schottland stammende Mönche ein Kloster in der bayrischen Einöde von Schliersee. Adalung, Hiltupalt, Kerpalt, Antonius und Otakir nennen dieses Kloster SLYRS, richtig ausgesprochen übrigens SCHLIERS.

Das Kloster SLYRS gibt über die Jahrhunderte der gesamten Region Schliersee ihren Namen  ̶ und 1220 Jahre später auch einen ganz besonderen, oberbayrischen Single Malt Whisky.

SLYRS Destillerie Mönche

Pionier mit Innovationsgeist

Mit einer Wette fängt alles an, damals im Jahr 1994: der gelernte Brauer und Destillateurmeister Florian Stetter unternimmt mit seinen Meisterkollegen eine Studienreise nach Schottland. Er ist überrascht von den Ähnlichkeiten, die er mit seiner Heimat Oberbayern entdeckt: Berge, klares Wasser und herrlich reine Luft.

Dazu kommt die bisweilen herausfordernde Sturheit der Schotten, die ihm sehr bayrisch anmutet, ein schwierig auszusprechender Dialekt und ein ausgeprägter Hang zur Freistaaterei. Selbst die schottische Nationaltracht, der Kilt, kommt ihm ähnlich eigentümlich vor wie die bayrische Lederhose.

So viel schottisch-bayrisches Crossover und seine Besuche in den weltberühmten Destillerien der Speyside-Region inspirieren Florian Stetter zur Vision, einen oberbayrischen Single Malt Whisky herzustellen. Er wettet mit seinen Kollegen um einen Kasten Weißbier, dass man auch in Oberbayern erstklassigen Whisky brennen kann – und er gewinnt! Schon wenig später wird in der elterlichen Destillerie Lantenhammer Whisky gebrannt. Damit fängt die SLYRS Geschichte aber erst an.

SLYRS - Einer von Hier

Hier am oberbayrischen Schliersee, wo die Bäche noch klar, die Wiesen noch saftig grün und die Berggipfel so hoch sind, als würden sie direkt durch den blauen Himmelsbogen ragen, genau hier ist SLYRS zuhause.

Untrennbar ist diese Heimat mit dem SLYRS Whisky und unserer Philosophie verbunden:

Ein echter Bayer mit iroschottischen
Wurzeln

Der Name SLYRS ist gälisch und hat iroschottische Wurzeln. Doch SLYRS ist bayrisch durch und durch. Denn im Jahre 779 gründen fünf aus Irland und Schottland stammende Mönche ein Kloster in der bayrischen Einöde von Schliersee. Adalung, Hiltupalt, Kerpalt, Antonius und Otakir nennen dieses Kloster SLYRS, richtig ausgesprochen übrigens SCHLIERS.

Das Kloster SLYRS gibt über die Jahrhunderte der gesamten Region Schliersee ihren Namen  ̶ und 1220 Jahre später auch einen ganz besonderen, oberbayrischen Single Malt Whisky.

SLYRS Destillerie Mönche

Pionier mit Innovationsgeist

Mit einer Wette fängt alles an, damals im Jahr 1994: der gelernte Brauer und Destillateurmeister Florian Stetter unternimmt mit seinen Meisterkollegen eine Studienreise nach Schottland. Er ist überrascht von den Ähnlichkeiten, die er mit seiner Heimat Oberbayern entdeckt: Berge, klares Wasser und herrlich reine Luft.

Dazu kommt die bisweilen herausfordernde Sturheit der Schotten, die ihm sehr bayrisch anmutet, ein schwierig auszusprechender Dialekt und ein ausgeprägter Hang zur Freistaaterei. Selbst die schottische Nationaltracht, der Kilt, kommt ihm ähnlich eigentümlich vor wie die bayrische Lederhose.

So viel schottisch-bayrisches Crossover und seine Besuche in den weltberühmten Destillerien der Speyside-Region inspirieren Florian Stetter zur Vision, einen oberbayrischen Single Malt Whisky herzustellen. Er wettet mit seinen Kollegen um einen Kasten Weißbier, dass man auch in Oberbayern erstklassigen Whisky brennen kann – und er gewinnt! Schon wenig später wird in der elterlichen Destillerie Lantenhammer Whisky gebrannt. Damit fängt die SLYRS Geschichte aber erst an.

Leidenschaftlich brennen
für beste Qualität

Wir Whisky-Pioniere aus Oberbayern sind echte Überzeugungsbrenner. Und das muss auch so sein, denn die Passion, mit der wir unser Handwerk betreiben, ist Voraussetzung für höchste Qualität. In jedem von uns brennt die Leidenschaft, mit der SLYRS einen der besten Whiskys der Welt herstellt. Den internationalen Preisen zufolge, die unsere SLYRS Whiskys gewinnen, liegen wir mit unserer Kunst ganz weit vorn. Doch als einer der größten Whisky-Hersteller Deutschland ruhen wir uns darauf nicht aus.

Stetig entwickeln wir uns weiter und erhalten unsere Vorreiterrolle auf dem deutschen Whiskymarkt aufrecht. Mit Mut, Ideenreichtum und bayrischem Charme streben wir nach vorne – für viele weitere, leidenschaftliche SLYRS Whisky-Kreationen höchster Qualität, die am Schliersee daheim und in der Welt zuhause sind.

SLYRS - Einer von Hier

Hier am oberbayrischen Schliersee, wo die Bäche noch klar, die Wiesen noch saftig grün und die Berggipfel so hoch sind, als würden sie direkt durch den blauen Himmelsbogen ragen, genau hier ist SLYRS zuhause.

Untrennbar ist diese Heimat mit dem SLYRS Whisky und unserer Philosophie verbunden:

Erkunden Sie auch unsere Mission & Werte

Newsletter